Graduate Students

Gbemisola Abiola
Research Interests: post (post) colonial studies, African literature, African political thought, war studies, and critical terrorism studies
gabiola@g.harvard.edu

Marty Alexander
Research Interests: United States, Hong Kong, southern China; biomedical research and ethics; local laboratory practices; the production of biomedical discourses; and public understandings of science.
lalexand@fas.harvard.edu

Ethan Balgley
Research Interests: United States, Los Angeles; medical anthropology; superutilizers, homelessness, discourses of healthcare policy and reform ethan_balgley@hms.harvard.edu | website

Margaretha Blignaut
Research Interests: Knowledge production, heritage politics, post-genomic era, Roma, Turkey
mblignaut@g.harvard.edu

Cynthia Browne
Research Interests: Germany: art, urbanism, and riparian landscapes; industrial nature and structural change; phenomenology (Husserl, Merleau-Ponty), linguistic pragmatics.
cbrowne@fas.harvard.edu

Eda Cakmakci
Research Interests: social anthropology, cultural history, Turkey.
edacakmakci@g.harvard.edu

Wade Campbell
Research Interests: Southwest US, Navajo (Diné) archaeology; Spanish/indigenous colonial contacts; pericolonialism & borderland communities; ethnicity & migration; diet & subsistence practices; pastoralism; landscape archaeology; indigenous archaeology.
campbell01@g.harvard.edu

Ari Caramanica
Research Interests: Peru; inter- & intra-societal boundaries, transitions and points of discord through lens of landscape archaeology.
acaraman@fas.harvard.edu

Michelle Choi
Research Interests: Korean peninsula, nationalism, future.
michellechoi@g.harvard.edu

Vivien Chung
Research Interests: South Korea, design, gender and sexuality, fashion industry, marketing, language and politics.
vivienchung@fas.harvard.edu

Paul Clarke
Research Interests: Gun violence in American & South African cities, race and biopolitics, materiality, urban anthropology, settler colonialism, private security.
paul_clarke@g.harvard.edu

Jonathan Clindaniel
Research Interests: Computational Archaeology, Inka Khipus, semiotics.
jclindaniel@fas.harvard.edu | website

Noa Corcoran-Tadd
Research Interests: Latin America; historical archaeology, Inka archaeology, Andean colonial history, road networks, GIS and spatial analysis.
ncorcorantadd@fas.harvard.edu | website

Joe Cronin            
Research Interests: Andean Archaeology, Agricultural Ritual, Political Authority, Production Infrastructure, Pre-Hispanic Economies.
jcronin@g.harvard.edu | website

Margaret Czerwienski
Research Interests: Nigeria, biopolitics; how do pharmaceutical treatment modalities link individual bodies and local communities to global political economic processes, and how do these networked interconnections shift local, national, and global histories, narratives, and experiences of mental anguish and suffering?
mczerwienski@g.harvard.edu

Aryo Danusiri
Research Interests: Indonesia, South East Asia; Visual Ethnography, Nexus of Borders, Fundamentalism, Mobility, Developmentalism, Humanitarianism, Decentralization.
danusiri@fas.harvard.edu

Shuang Lu Frost
Research Interests: Digital technology, sharing economy, urban infrastructure, governance, political economy, China.
shuanglu@fas.harvard.edu | website

Juana Davila Saenz
Research Interests: Latin America, in particular, Colombia and Venezuela; anthropology of power, legal discourse, illegality, policy, legislative processes and bureaucracy; agrarian reform, human-land ties, the Colombian armed conflict and armed action in general, internal forced displacement, and notions of memory, reparation and justice.
jdavila@fas.harvard.edu

Jessica Dickson
Research Interests: South Africa; media anthropology, cinema and the film industry, post-colonial science fiction and futurism, political economy, subjectivity, race and gender, tourism.
jessicadickson@fas.harvard.edu

Max Durayappah-Harrison
Research Interests: Japan; agriculture, impacts of globalization, collaborative visual anthropology.
harrison01@fas.harvard.edu

Zoe Eddy
Research Interests: Supernatural belief systems, ritual and religion, animal studies, food studies, gender and identity, material culture, LARPing, collaborative anthropology, historical archaeology, cross-comparative analysis; Japan, the United Kingdom, island communities.
zeddy@fas.harvard.edu

Kanishka Elupula
Area of Interest: India, U.S., political anthropology
kanishkaelupula@fas.harvard.edu

Nakay R. Flotte
Research Interests: Mexico-Guatemala borderlands, migration, security, gender and sexuality.
rflotte@fas.harvard.edu

Alexis Hartford
Area of Interest: Mesoamerica; ritual and religion, ceramics, residue analysis, community outreach.
ahartford@fas.harvard.edu

Samantha Hawkins
Research Interests: Visual anthropology, violence, inner city experience, social marginalization, memorialization, power structures, identity, material culture, and the United States.
shawkins@g.harvard.edu

Annikki Herranen-Tabibi 
Research Interests: Finland; The medical, political and historical anthropology of care in the Finnish Sámi region; European and Circumpolar anthropology; belonging, citizenship and sovereignty; welfare state transformations; demography.
herranen@fas.harvard.edu 

Reza Idria
Research Interests: Indonesia, the aftermath of disasters, Aceh, politics, truth and reconciliation, Sharia and cultural resistance.
rezaidria@fas.harvard.edu

Yookyeong Im
Research Interests: South Korea, international law, human rights discourses and institutions, gender and sexuality.
yookyeong_im@g.harvard.edu

Bronwyn Isaacs
Research Interests: Consumer markets, labor and value, political anthropology, nationalism, religion, ethics and morality, food and consumption, the anthropology of performance, the body, gender, advertising, aesthetics, media, propaganda, visual anthropology, sensory ethnography, Thailand and South East Asia.
bronwynisaacs@fas.harvard.edu | website

Sebastian Jackson
Social Anthropology/AAAS
sebastianjackson@g.harvard.edu

Abbas Jaffer
Research Interests: South Asia, STS (science, technology, and society), digital sociality
jaffer@fas.harvard.edu | website

Eric Johnson    
Research Interests: North Atlantic, Iceland, New England; Historical anthropology, archaeology of class in colonial contexts, political economy, materiality of mercantilism vs. liberalism, inter-household inequality, settlement landscapes, core sampling and survey archaeology.        
ericjohnson@g.harvard.edu

Ilkim Karakus
Research Interests: Turkey; body politics, resistance, ethics.
ikarakus@g.harvard.edu

George Karandinos
Research Interests: US inner cities, Puerto Rico, Colombia; violence, addiction, War on Drugs.
george_karandinos@hms.harvard.edu

Damina Khaira
Research Interests: SouthEast Asia, Borneo; indigeneity, identity politics, heritage.
dkhaira@fas.harvard.edu

Nancy A. Khalil
Research Interests: Muslims in America (particularly the 2nd and 3rd generation); Higher Education & Student Development; Religion, Religiosity, & Spirituality; Belief; Transnationalism.
nkhalil@fas.harvard.edu

Bethany Kibler
Research Interests: U.S. & Middle East; U.S. Military, Gender and Sexuality.
bkibler@fas.harvard.edu

Alexander Mee-Woong Kim
Research Interests: Siberia, Central Asia, and North America; ancient DNA and population genomics; admixture, migration, and demography; hunter-gatherer mortuary behavior; “complex” foragers; ceramics without farming; caste systems and hereditary slavery           akim@genetics.med.harvard.edu | website

Jada Ko
Research Interests: Western China; emergence of social hierarchies and complex societies; zooarchaeology; Media Anthropology.
wingtungjadako@fas.harvard.edu

Ekin Kurtic
Research Interests: anthropology of infrastructure, environmental history, political ecology, anthropology of bureaucracy, and Turkey.
ekinkurtic@fas.harvard.edu

Veronika Kusumaryati
Research Interests: Indonesia, Southeast Asia, audiovisual technologies, circulation and production of images,anthropology of knowledge/science, and political changes.
kusumaryati@fas.harvard.edu

Zachary Lentsch
Research Interests: Yemen; Red Sea mobilities, empire, development.
lentsch@g.harvard.edu

Wirun Limsawart
Research Interests: Thailand, medical anthropology
limsawar@fas.harvard.edu

Andrew Littlejohn
Research Interests: Natural Disasters, Community Rebuilding, Space and Place, Japan
andrewlittlejohn@fas.harvard.edu | website

Kylie Tora Basuki Liu
Research Interests: Italy; Psychiatric and legal anthropology, rape laws.
kylie_liu@g.harvard.edu

Sara Loomis
Research Interests: Archaeology, Mesoamerica, West Mexico, Teotihuacan, Ceramics, Childhood
sloomis@g.harvard.edu

Matthew Magnani
Research Interests: East Africa; Hunter-gatherer/pastoralist ethnoarchaeology, experimental archaeology, indigeneity and (digital) cultural heritage.
matthewmagnani@g.harvard.edu | website

Amulya Mandava
Research Interests: South Asia; marriage, caste, political economy.            
amulya_mandava@mail.harvard.edu

Solsire Cusicanqui Marsano
Research Interests: Peru; Andean Archaeology, Cajamarca, Mochica, Peru; identity, technology, style; archaeology and heritage management.
scusicanquimarsano@g.harvard.edu

Ian McGonigle
Research Interests: Middle East; moleculariztion of ethnicity in Israel and the Arabian Peninsula.
mcgonigle@fas.harvard.edu

Jessica McNiel
Research Interests: paleoanthropology; lithic technology; experimental archaeology; archaeology of South Africa, East Africa, Sahul; human evolution; modern human origins and behavioral variability; Middle Stone Age technology; Middle to Later Stone Age transitions; raw materials properties; raw material sourcing 
jlmcneil@g.harvard.edu

Charlotte Neary-Bremer
Research Interests: Medical Anthropology, public health policy, violence.    
charlotte.nearybremer@gmail.com

Anna Neumann
Joint African and African-American Studies
annaneumann@fas.harvard.edu

Abigail Niebuhr
Research Interests: South Africa; xenophobia and the issue of xenophobic violence in post-apartheid South Africa
abigailniebuhr@g.harvard.edu

Chiaki Nishijima
Research Interests: Tokyo, Japan; gender and sexuality, political economy, aging.
cnishij@fas.harvard.edu

Andrew Ong
Research Interests: Burma/Myanmar; peace process, political culture, borderlands.
aong@fas.harvard.edu

Vipas Prachyaporn
Research Interests: Southeast Asia, Laos; Artisanship, personhood, nationalism, post-socialism.
vprachy@fas.harvard.edu

Renugan Raidoo
Research Interests: South Africa; gated communities, histories of enclaving, urban anthropology, anthropology of space and place, crime and security, democracy and citizenship.            
rraidoo@g.harvard.edu

Eric Reinhart
Research Interests: U.S.; Urban and medical anthropology.
reinhar@fas.harvard.edu

Kate Rose
Research Interests: Ancient Egypt and Near East; Urbanism and settlement design, spatial analysis, domestic ritual practice versus state religious ideology.
katherinerose@fas.harvard.edu

Jasmine Samara
Research Interests: Greece; Greek Muslims, human rights, law, religion and the state, minorities, gender.
samara.jasmine@gmail.com

Benjamin Shaffer
Research Interests: China; media/visual anthropology, art communities.
benny.shaffer@gmail.com

Adam Stack
Research Interests: Southwest US; Historical and landscape archaeology, urbanism and cultural change, settlement patterns, colonial archaeology.
stack@fas.harvard.edu

Miari Stephens
Research Interests: Afro-Latin American; Hispanic Caribbean; politics of beauty as they intersect with race, gender, and class; politics of hair; beauty as expression, art form.            
miari@g.harvard.edu

Galen Stolee
Research Interests:  Indonesia, Silicon Valley, anthropology of media, popular culture, visual ethnography, masculinities, mind-machine interfaces, pornography, digital nomads, dogs            
stolee@g.harvard.edu

Susan Taylor
Research Interests: Japan; urban markets, cultural geography, and virtual spaces. I am interested in configurations between knowledge and places, specifically constructions of nationalistic and bibliographic knowledge in used book districts in Tokyo and Seoul.
susanpaigetaylor@g.harvard.edu

Keye Tersmette
Research Interests: Oman; Middle East politics; popular conceptions of the state; youth (un)employment     
keyetersmette@g.harvard.edu

Rachel Thompson
Research Interests: Indonesia, Netherlands; colonialism, trade, political ecology/economy
rthompson@fas.harvard.edu

Randa Wahbe
Research Interests: Palestine, expressions of sovereignty, settler-colonialism, necropolitics, body commodification
wahbe@g.harvard.edu

Alex Warburton
Research Interests: Kazakhstan and Turkic Central Asia; semiotic and linguistic anthropology; voice and the body; transnational infrastructure projects
warburton@g.harvard.edu

Sadie Weber
Research Interests: South America, Pastoralism, zooarchaeology, archaeobotany. 
sweber@fas.harvard.edu

Courtney T. Wittenkind
Research Interests: Spatial politics, landscape and the environment, materiality, visual and collaborative ethnography, Southeast Asia, Burma/Myanmar. 
courtney_wittekind@g.harvard.edu

Aylin Yildirim Tschoepe
Research Interests: Social and Urban Transformation and Contest, Biopolitics, City as “Spatial Palimpsest”, Architecture of Resistance, Anthropology of Knowledge, Cultural Intimacy, Memory and Identity Politics, “Homescapes”, TransnationalMigration, Turkey, Germany.
ayildirim@fas.harvard.edu

Dilan Yildirim
Research Interests: Turkey; Kurdish political movements, structural violence & memory, marginality, landscape and subjectivity, politics of culture.
dyildir@fas.harvard.edu

Armanc Yildiz
Research Interests: labor, race, sexuality, political economy, colonialism, migration, Germany, the Netherlands, the anthropology of Europe.
ayildiz@g.harvard.edu

Sara Zaia
Research Interests: Archaeology of Egypt and Nubia, Predynastic Egypt, navigation and trades, ships and shipcraft, ancient technologies, Digital Humanities, computer graphics, 3D and virtual reconstruction, field archaeology, field survey, landscape archaeology; GIS,photogrammetry, web design, experimental archaeology.
sara_zaia@g.harvard.edu | website

Shanni Zhao
Research Interests: China, affective labor and capitalism, gender and sexuality, citizenship and belonging, post-socialism.
shannizhao@g.harvard.edu

Yevgeniy Zhuravel
Research Interests: Belarus, Russia, Ukraine, post-socialism, transition to capitalism, class formation, race and class, race and colonialism in popular culture, modes of nationalism
zhuravel@g.harvard.edu

Kristen Zipperer
Research Interests: South Asia, borders, sovereignty, law, media
zipperer@g.harvard.edu